Franchise Cost Index — Health & Fitness

Part of: Franchise Cost Index — this page covers gym, fitness, and health franchises. Publisher: Franchise KI is a franchise consultancy; the figures below are research data drawn from franchisors' own Franchise Disclosure Documents (FDDs), published so buyers and researchers can verify them. Census date: 2026-10-27

How much does a Health & Fitness franchise cost?

Across the 550 Health & Fitness brands whose FDD states a total investment range, the median total initial investment is $147,750 – $324,638 (Item 7). The median midpoint is $243,950, the middle 50% of brands fall between midpoints of $100,344 and $475,844, and the median franchise fee is $40,000 (middle 50%: $25,000–$54,900, n = 444).

Distribution — Health & Fitness (N = 550)

MeasureQ1 (25th pct)MedianQ3 (75th pct)
Item 7 low end$61,725$147,750$301,770
Item 7 high end$135,000$324,638$634,662
Range midpoint$100,344$243,950$475,844

Entry costs within Health & Fitness

Brands grouped by the low end of their Item 7 range:

Entry (Item 7 low)BrandsShare of category
<$50k11120.2%
$50k–$100k10318.7%
$100k–$250k16830.5%
$250k–$500k10118.4%
$500k–$1M498.9%
>$1M183.3%

A representative brand

The Health & Fitness brand closest to the category median midpoint is 30 Minute Hit at $145,350 – $342,950, franchise fee $70,000 — one concrete row from dataset.csv sitting at the centre of this category's distribution. Individual brands spread widely in both directions from the median; the quartile table above, not any single brand, is the benchmark.

Coverage and method for this page

This category page covers 550 of the 612 Health & Fitness brands in the Franchise KI catalog; brands whose extraction does not state both ends of the Item 7 range are excluded, never estimated. Method in brief: each figure is the total initial investment range disclosed in Item 7 of that brand's FDD of record, as extracted into the Franchise KI catalog. A field an FDD does not state stays empty — no estimates are used. Full method: Methodology. Every brand named above is a row in dataset.csv.

Franchise Cost Index · Franchise KI · Census 2026-10-27 · Flagship · Methodology · Dataset (CSV)