Franchise Cost Index — Food & Beverage

Part of: Franchise Cost Index — this page covers food, restaurant, and beverage franchises. Publisher: Franchise KI is a franchise consultancy; the figures below are research data drawn from franchisors' own Franchise Disclosure Documents (FDDs), published so buyers and researchers can verify them. Census date: 2026-10-27

How much does a Food & Beverage franchise cost?

Across the 998 Food & Beverage brands whose FDD states a total investment range, the median total initial investment is $275,250 – $616,750 (Item 7). The median midpoint is $455,759, the middle 50% of brands fall between midpoints of $225,056 and $862,375, and the median franchise fee is $35,000 (middle 50%: $25,000–$40,000, n = 773).

Distribution — Food & Beverage (N = 998)

MeasureQ1 (25th pct)MedianQ3 (75th pct)
Item 7 low end$130,000$275,250$499,580
Item 7 high end$305,100$616,750$1,196,475
Range midpoint$225,056$455,759$862,375

Entry costs within Food & Beverage

Brands grouped by the low end of their Item 7 range:

Entry (Item 7 low)BrandsShare of category
<$50k14314.3%
$50k–$100k676.7%
$100k–$250k24624.6%
$250k–$500k29229.3%
$500k–$1M14014.0%
>$1M11011.0%

A representative brand

The Food & Beverage brand closest to the category median midpoint is 16 HANDLES FRANCHISING at $249,500 – $663,500, franchise fee $30,000 — one concrete row from dataset.csv sitting at the centre of this category's distribution. Individual brands spread widely in both directions from the median; the quartile table above, not any single brand, is the benchmark.

Coverage and method for this page

This category page covers 998 of the 1130 Food & Beverage brands in the Franchise KI catalog; brands whose extraction does not state both ends of the Item 7 range are excluded, never estimated. Method in brief: each figure is the total initial investment range disclosed in Item 7 of that brand's FDD of record, as extracted into the Franchise KI catalog. A field an FDD does not state stays empty — no estimates are used. Full method: Methodology. Every brand named above is a row in dataset.csv.

Franchise Cost Index · Franchise KI · Census 2026-10-27 · Flagship · Methodology · Dataset (CSV)