The UPS Store, Inc
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $14,950 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $546,655 – $546,655 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | CA |
| Legal name (Item 1) | The UPS Store, Inc |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-04-23 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 5487 (Item 20, p.86) |
| Brand website | http://www.theupsstore.com |
About The UPS Store, Inc
The UPS Store is the largest U.S. franchisor of retail shipping, postal, print and business service centers, with 5,487 franchised locations and 16 company-owned at end-2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, printed p.80). The initial franchise fee is $39,950 for a first Center (Item 5, printed p.15). Ongoing royalty is 5% of STR plus a 1% marketing fund and 2.5% national advertising (Item 6, printed p.23). Total estimated initial investment ranges $222,368 to $606,081 (traditional Item 7, attested via 2026-FDD extracts — sharpsheets itemized extract and vetmyfranchise 2026 snapshot; the 2026 Traditional FDD PDF is not publicly released). Fee, royalty and unit figures are byte-verified from the 2026 Non-Traditional FDD. [FDD: The UPS Store, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 23, 2026] Ownership: the owner need not be the on-premises operator, but a full-time on-premises Primary Operator (owner or supervisory employee) is required, plus training (Item 15, printed p.70, 2026 FDD issued April 23, 2026).
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 5,232 | 2 | 5,234 |
| 2024 | 5,350 | 15 | 5,365 |
| 2025 | 5,487 | 16 | 5,503 |
Source: Item 20, p.86 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 845 (Item 20, p.83 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 10 (Item 3, p.14 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.20 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Disclosed matters include a class action regarding the rebranding from Mail Boxes Etc. to The UPS Store (settled 2018), a class action regarding notary fee violations in Kentucky (settled 2021), and a class action regarding notary fees in Massachusetts (pending). (Item 3, p.14-20 of the FDD)
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | No (Item 15, p.76 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | Yes (Item 15, p.76 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The territory is defined by a map and written description, generally limited to the address of the Center for Non-Traditional sites. The franchisor reserves the right to operate or license others within the territory at Non-Traditional sites and through other distribution channels. (Item 12, p.71-73 of the FDD)
Training: FRANCHISOR’S ASSISTANCE, ADVERTISING, COMPUTER SYSTEMS, AND TRAINING Except as listed below, we are not required to provide you with any assistance. (Item 11, p.61 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Not disclosed in the provided text sections.
Source: Item 11, p.61 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | San Diego, CA (Item 19, p.86 of the FDD) |
| Years in business | 46 (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Years franchising | 46 (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | United Parcel Service, Inc. (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 10 years (Item 17, p.78 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 10 years (Item 17, p.78 of the FDD) |
| Veteran discount | Offered (Item 5, p.21 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 16 (Item 20, p.86 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask The UPS Store, Inc directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
This brand's Item 12 grants no territory at all. There is no geographic protection and no territory-based exclusion; where you may operate is defined by the franchisor's own placement decisions.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Where The UPS Store, Inc operates today
Per the brand's FDD outlet table (Item 20, Table 3 — franchised outlets by state, latest fiscal year): 4853 franchised units across 45 states.
Projected openings (Item 20, Table 5)
Franchise agreements the FDD projects for the next fiscal year:
Source: Business-Services_The_UPS_Store_2026_DP21DV30.pdf, Item 20. Counts are the franchisor's own disclosures.
Why two unit counts? The Key figures above cite 5487 franchised units (Item 20, p.86) — the franchisor's reported franchised-unit total. The map above sums Item 20, Table 3 (franchised outlets by state at fiscal year-end), which totals 4853. The two Item 20 figures are compiled on different bases, so they need not match.
Next steps with The UPS Store, Inc
Put The UPS Store, Inc on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.