THE CLEANING AUTHORITY
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $20,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $92,850 – $147,100 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | MD |
| Legal name (Item 1) | The Cleaning Authority Franchising SPE LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2025-04-25 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 241 (Item 20, p.72) |
| Brand website | https://www.thecleaningauthority.com |
About THE CLEANING AUTHORITY
We began offering THE CLEANING AUTHORITY franchises on May 17, 2021. Our predecessors began offering THE CLEANING AUTHORITY franchises in 1996. TERRITORY (Item 12): territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 221 | 3 | 224 |
| 2024 | 233 | 3 | 236 |
| 2025 | 241 | 3 | 244 |
Source: Item 20, p.72 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 12 (Item 20, p.72-80 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 25 (Item 20, p.68 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 0 (Item 3, p.15 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.277 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Two actions disclosed: a class-style suit by a franchisee association (TCAF) alleging disclosure and association violations, settled in Jan 2026 with dismissal; and a suit by the franchisor against a former franchisee for breach of contract and non-compete, settled in Sept 2025 with payment of damages and fees. (Item 3, p.14-15 of the FDD)
Item 19 — franchisor-provided financial performance representations
These figures are the franchisor's own representations in Item 19 of its FDD. They are not verified earnings and are not a promise of what any unit will earn.
| Median revenue | $1,289,775 (Item 19, p.63 of the FDD) |
| Revenue range | $105,551 – $4,995,554 (Item 19, p.64 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | Yes (Item 15, p.59 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | No (Item 15, p.59 of the FDD) |
| Typical time to open | 3 months (Item 11, p.51 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The franchisee receives a protected territory defined by zip codes or Designated Households (30,000-60,000 for Enterprise, 15,000-29,999 for Hometown). The franchisor will not operate or authorize others to operate within the territory, except for pre-existing operations or other channels of distribution. (Item 12, p.51-54 of the FDD)
Training: Training Program Before the Franchised Business opens, the Key Person (see Item 15) and any Owners we designate must attend and successfully complete an initial training program (the “Training Program”). (Item 11, p.42 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Administer the Local Marketing Program
- Make available a call center
- Make available additional required and optional training programs
- Develop and maintain the Brand Standards
- Manage the operation of the Franchisee Portal
- Notify when establishing specifications or designating vendors
- Manage the Brand Standards assessment program
- Manage the Brand Fund
Source: Item 11, p.40 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Columbia, MD (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Years in business | 30 (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Years franchising | 30 (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | AB Assetco LLC (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 15 years (Item 17, p.61 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 10 years (Item 17, p.61 of the FDD) |
| Veteran discount | Offered (Item 5, p.16 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 3 (Item 20, p.75 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask THE CLEANING AUTHORITY directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, the territory carries some protection but not full exclusivity — for example, the franchisor may reserve certain channels or accounts. Future concepts may also be reserved. Areas inside an existing franchisee's protected territory are generally not available to a new buyer for a directly competing unit; the exact limits are in the FDD text quoted above.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Next steps with THE CLEANING AUTHORITY
Put THE CLEANING AUTHORITY on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.