Taco Bell
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $45,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $1,859,750 – $4,312,200 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5.5% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | CA |
| Legal name (Item 1) | TACO BELL FRANCHISOR, LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-03-26 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 7335 (Item 20, p.65) |
| Brand website | https://franchise.yum.com/brands/taco-bell |
About Taco Bell
MONEY FIGURES (Taco Bell Traditional FDD 2026, issuance date March 26, 2026): initial franchise fee for a new Traditional Unit $45,000 (Item 5, PDF p9); estimated initial investment for a Traditional Unit $1,859,750-$4,312,200 (Item 7, PDF p18); royalty 5.5% of Gross Sales (Item 6, PDF p11); marketing fee 4.25% of Gross Sales (Item 6, PDF p11). OUTLETS (Item 20, PDF p60): 7,998 total units at end of 2025 (7,335 franchised + 663 company-owned). Figures are for the Traditional Unit offering; In-Line/End-Cap figures differ (fee $25,000, investment $934,750-$1,817,200).
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Risk & history facts
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 0 (Item 3, p.14 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.14 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | Yes (Item 15, p.48 of the FDD) |
Training: Our management training program, offered on an as-needed basis, is a minimum of 7 weeks. (Item 11, p.36 of the FDD)
Company facts
| Headquarters | CA |
| Company-owned units | 221 (Item 20, p.58 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Taco Bell directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
- What does the brand's recent unit history show over the last three years (Item 20)? Ask about openings. Ask about closures. Ask about transfers. We have not extracted a unit-history table for this brand.
- How exactly is the territory defined and protected (Item 12)? Ask for the territory map and the reserved-rights carve-outs in writing.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, the franchisor grants an exclusive territory: while your agreement runs, the franchisor may not place another franchisee — or operate a competing company unit — inside your territory's boundaries (subject to the carve-outs in the FDD). Areas inside an existing franchisee's territory are therefore not available to a new buyer.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “this franchisor grants an exclusive territory as described in its FDD. The Franchisor and its Parents Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC is the franchisor and is referred to as “we” or “us.” The buyer of a franchise will be referred to as "you" or “Franchisee,” including if you are an”
Next steps with Taco Bell
Put Taco Bell on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.