Motto Franchising
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $35,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $21,700 – $208,250 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 10% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | CO |
| Legal name (Item 1) | Motto Franchising, LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2025-04-11 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 171 (Item 20, p.58) |
| Brand website | https://www.facebook.com/MottoMortgage/ |
About Motto Franchising
Say goodbye to the limitations of traditional franchises and embrace a trailblazing opportunity to shape your own future. With our cutting-edge technology, comprehensive training, and unrivaled resources, you'll become a leading force in the real estate market. Take charge of your destiny and join the Motto Mortgage family today to experience the gratifying satisfaction of helping people achieve their homeownership dreams while achieving your own! It costs on average between $61,000 – $9...
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 249 | 0 | 249 |
| 2024 | 228 | 0 | 228 |
| 2025 | 171 | 0 | 171 |
Source: Item 20, p.58 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 78 (Item 20, p.53-69 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 14 (Item 20, p.51-52 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 0 (Item 3, p.15 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.16 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Four pending actions are disclosed: one against a franchisee for breach of agreement and settlement terms, and three suits to collect royalty payments from former franchisees. (Item 3, p.15 of the FDD)
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | No (Item 15, p.49 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | Yes (Item 15, p.49 of the FDD) |
| Typical time to open | 4.5 months (Item 11, p.36 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): Franchisees are granted the right to operate at a specific approved address-only location without an exclusive territory, facing potential competition from other franchisees or company-owned outlets. (Item 12, p.44 of the FDD)
Training: FRANCHISOR’S ASSISTANCE, ADVERTISING, COMPUTER SYSTEMS, AND TRAINING Except as listed below, Motto Franchising, LLC is not required to provide you with any assistance. (Item 11, p.38 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- In-person or remote consultation and guidance
- Educational courses and assistance in sales, fiscal management, and recruiting
- Supplementation and updates to Office Materials and System
- Access to education, conventions, and seminars
- Administration of the Motto Marketing Fund
Source: Item 11, p.36 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Denver, CO (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Years in business | 10 (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Years franchising | 10 (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | RE/MAX, LLC (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 7 years (Item 17, p.51 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 5 years (Item 17, p.51 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 0 (Item 20, p.65 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Motto Franchising directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Where Motto Franchising operates today
Per the brand's FDD outlet table (Item 20, Table 3 — franchised outlets by state, latest fiscal year): 170 franchised units across 39 states.
Projected openings (Item 20, Table 5)
Franchise agreements the FDD projects for the next fiscal year:
Source: Financial-Services_Motto_Mortgage_2026_XM13DO31.pdf, Item 20. Counts are the franchisor's own disclosures.
Why two unit counts? The Key figures above cite 171 franchised units (Item 20, p.58) — the franchisor's reported franchised-unit total. The map above sums Item 20, Table 3 (franchised outlets by state at fiscal year-end), which totals 170. The two Item 20 figures are compiled on different bases, so they need not match.
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with Motto Franchising
Put Motto Franchising on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.