Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | Not disclosed in the FDD |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $70,000 – $150,000 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 7% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | MD |
| Legal name (Item 1) | Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising, LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-03-27 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 363 (Item 20, p.88) |
| Brand website | https://www.kiddieacademy.com |
About Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising
We offer Kiddie Academy franchises for educational child care businesses that provide services for children between the ages of six weeks and 12 years using the Kiddie Academy System and Marks (as defined below). The programs and services provided at Kiddie Academy franchises are used primarily by… TERRITORY (Item 12): this franchisor grants an exclusive territory as described in its FDD.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 326 | 1 | 327 |
| 2024 | 344 | 1 | 345 |
| 2025 | 363 | 1 | 364 |
Source: Item 20, p.88 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 6 (Item 20, p.86 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 39 (Item 20, p.81 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 4 (Item 3, p.18 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.20 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Disclosed matters include three concluded actions involving franchisee defaults, trademark infringement, and breach of contract, all settled or dismissed with prejudice. One pending action filed in 2024 seeks damages for copyright infringement and breach of contract against a former franchisee. (Item 3, p.16-17 of the FDD)
Item 19 — franchisor-provided financial performance representations
These figures are the franchisor's own representations in Item 19 of its FDD. They are not verified earnings and are not a promise of what any unit will earn.
| Average revenue | $2,193,815 (Item 19, p.71 of the FDD) |
| Median revenue | $2,075,740 (Item 19, p.71 of the FDD) |
| Revenue range | $1,389,528 – $3,203,602 (Item 19, p.72 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | Yes (Item 1, p.10 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | No (Item 1, p.10 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The Franchise Agreement grants an Exclusive Territory based on the resident population within a one-mile radius of the Academy. If the population is less than 125,000, the territory is a circle with a radius of 1.5 miles (if pop <= 50,000) or 0.5 miles (if pop > 50,000 and < 125,000). No exclusive territory is granted if the population is 125,000 or more. (Item 12, p.57-58 of the FDD)
Training: The Franchisee Training Program will consist of 128.5 hours of training in KADF’s methods, techniques, and curriculum applications, as further described below. (Item 11, p.47 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Ongoing training
- Compliance with standards and policies
- Access to Operating Manual
- Support for site development
- Support for pre-opening requirements
Source: Item 11, p.21 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Abingdon, MD (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Years in business | 45 (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Years franchising | 34 (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | Essential Brands, Inc. (Item 1, p.9 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 15 years (Item 17, p.64 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 10 years (Item 17, p.68 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 1 (Item 20, p.92 of the FDD) |
| Projected new units | 36 (Item 20, p.89 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, the franchisor grants an exclusive territory: while your agreement runs, the franchisor may not place another franchisee — or operate a competing company unit — inside your territory's boundaries (subject to the carve-outs in the FDD). Areas inside an existing franchisee's territory are therefore not available to a new buyer.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “this franchisor grants an exclusive territory as described in its FDD.”
Next steps with Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising
Put Kiddie Academy Domestic Franchising on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.