HFC KTU
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $16,958 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $121,930 – $198,850 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | SD |
| Legal name (Item 1) | HFC KTU LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-02-20 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 250 (Item 20, p.43) |
| Brand website | https://www.kitchentuneup.com |
About HFC KTU
and Closet Tailors, LLC conducted business as CLOSET TAILORS® and offered franchises for a mobile business for the design, sale, and installation of organizing units and storage and organizing accessories for closets, pantries, storerooms, utility rooms, basements and attics. From 2011 until 2022,… TERRITORY (Item 12): territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 274 | 0 | 274 |
| 2024 | 261 | 0 | 261 |
| 2025 | 250 | 0 | 250 |
Source: Item 20, p.43 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 42 (Item 20, p.38-39 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 0 (Item 3, p.12 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.12 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): One disclosed matter: a 2006 Maryland consent order against affiliate Aussie Pet Mobile, Inc. (prior ownership) requiring cease-and-desist, rescission of one franchise agreement, and compliance representations, with no monetary sanctions. (Item 3, p.13 of the FDD)
Item 19 — franchisor-provided financial performance representations
These figures are the franchisor's own representations in Item 19 of its FDD. They are not verified earnings and are not a promise of what any unit will earn.
| Average revenue | $521,522 (Item 19, p.41 of the FDD) |
| Median revenue | $361,644 (Item 19, p.41 of the FDD) |
| Revenue range | $26,404 – $2,173,879 (Item 19, p.41 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | No (Item 15, p.35 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | Yes (Item 15, p.35 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): No exclusive territory. Franchisor grants a protected ZIP-code territory starting at about 41,000 households and will not establish another franchised Kitchen Improvements business using the System and Marks in that territory. (Item 12, p.32 of the FDD)
Training: If you operate out of your home, you must begin operating your franchised business within 30 days from the date you complete initial training. (Item 11, p.25 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Training on new products, services, and methods
- Consultation and guidance during normal business hours
- Optional on-site refresher training at $500 per day plus travel and living expenses
- Optional franchisee convention and meetings
- Promotional and advertising information
- 12-week post-training program and launch team
- System website that identifies franchisees
- Electronic portal for manuals, marketing, training, and digital assets
Source: Item 11, p.26 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Aberdeen, SD (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Years franchising | 0 (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | Home Franchise Concepts, LLC (Item 1, p.7 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 10 years (Item 17, p.36 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 5 years (Item 17, p.36 of the FDD) |
| Veteran discount | Offered (Item 7, p.19 of the FDD) |
| Advertising / brand fund fee | 1% of gross sales (Item 6, p.13 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 0 (Item 20, p.43 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask HFC KTU directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with HFC KTU
Put HFC KTU on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.