Christie’s International Real Estate
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $35,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $64,475 – $443,125 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 3% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | IL |
| Legal name (Item 1) | Christie’s International Real Estate, LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2025-04-30 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 38 (Item 20, p.53) |
| Brand website | https://www.christiesrealestate.com/ |
About Christie’s International Real Estate
We offer franchises for the right to operate a full-service residential real estate brokerage business using the Marks, including CHRISTIE’S INTERNATIONAL REAL ESTATE, pursuant to a Broker Affiliate License Agreement (the “Business”). Compass directly and through certain subsidiaries and affiliates… TERRITORY (Item 12): territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 36 | 3 | 39 |
| 2024 | 33 | 3 | 36 |
| 2025 | 38 | 2 | 40 |
Source: Item 20, p.53 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 11 (Item 20, p.55 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 0 (Item 20, p.53 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 9 (Item 3, p.12 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.14 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Six 2023-2024 antitrust putative class actions allege anticompetitive listing/commission practices; Parent reached nationwide seller and buyer class settlements (seller approval on appeal). Also disclosed: a 2018 affiliate broker-disclosure suit awaiting bankruptcy-court settlement approval, two 2023 Parent disclosure/zoning suits, and three post-December 2025 Anywhere/Compass merger stockholder complaints whose captions are not in the excerpt. (Item 3, p.14-17 of the FDD)
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | Yes (Item 15, p.46 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | No (Item 15, p.46 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The License Agreement may designate a Protected Territory, typically counties or zip codes, in which the franchisor will not open or license another Christie's office while the franchisee is in compliance. If none is designated, no territory is granted. Agents may still sell into a Protected Territory from offices outside it. (Item 12, p.39-40 of the FDD)
Training: We provide an initial training program as described below. (Item 11, p.27 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Assistance with operating problems and issues
- Optional ancillary services such as development consulting, marketing, loan brokerage, escrow, and title searches
- Review of proposed marketing materials
- Specification of software and computer systems and help obtaining the MLS data feed
- Additional optional and mandatory training, seminars, and conferences
- Periodic Operations Manual updates
- Review and consent for the Main Office lease
- Optional advertising advice and access to print design templates and collateral
Source: Item 11, p.32-33 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Chicago, IL (Item 1, p.8 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | At World Properties, LLC (Item 1, p.8 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 10 years (Item 17, p.45 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 10 years (Item 17, p.45 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 3 (Item 20, p.49 of the FDD) |
| Projected new units | 6 (Item 20, p.56 of the FDD) |
| Net worth required | $7,348,000 (Item 7 notes, p.174 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Christie’s International Real Estate directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Where Christie’s International Real Estate operates today
Per the brand's FDD outlet table (Item 20, Table 3 — franchised outlets by state, latest fiscal year): 37 franchised units across 23 states.
Projected openings (Item 20, Table 5)
Franchise agreements the FDD projects for the next fiscal year:
Source: Business-Services_Christie_s_International_Real_Estate_2026_xb94yo69.pdf, Item 20. Counts are the franchisor's own disclosures.
Why two unit counts? The Key figures above cite 38 franchised units (Item 20, p.53) — the franchisor's reported franchised-unit total. The map above sums Item 20, Table 3 (franchised outlets by state at fiscal year-end), which totals 37. The two Item 20 figures are compiled on different bases, so they need not match.
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with Christie’s International Real Estate
Put Christie’s International Real Estate on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.