Chick-fil-A
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $10,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $317,521 – $3,463,155 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 15% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | GA |
| Legal name (Item 1) | Chick-fil-A, Inc |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 2795 (Item 20, p.86) |
| Brand website | https://www.chick-fil-a.com/franchising |
About Chick-fil-A
MONEY FIGURES (Chick-fil-A FDD 2026, issued March 31, 2026): initial franchise fee 10000 (Item 5, PDF p26, L22; 5000 of it held as working capital deposit); estimated initial investment 317521-3463155 (Item 7 TOTAL, PDF p43, L44-45); royalty: Base Operating Service Fee 15 pct of Gross Receipts, a portion allocated as royalty (Item 6 / Franchise Agreement Sec 14.1(e), PDF p33, L41-44). OUTLETS (FDD Item 20 Table 1, PDF p86, L21-22): 2863 total outlets at 2025 year-end (2795 franchised + 68 company-owned; 424 licensed units separate). OWNERSHIP (Item 15, PDF p72, L26): operator must devote full time and personal best efforts and directly supervise the business (owner-operator model).
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Risk & history facts
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 7 (Item 3, p.21 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.23 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Typical time to open | 9 months (Item 11, p.32 of the FDD) |
Training: Virtual Licensee Training lasts 5 days (see training schedule, below). (Item 11, p.32 of the FDD)
Company facts
| Headquarters | GA |
| Renewal term | 1 years (Item 17, p.74 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 424 (Item 20, p.55 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Chick-fil-A directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What does the brand's recent unit history show over the last three years (Item 20)? Ask about openings. Ask about closures. Ask about transfers. We have not extracted a unit-history table for this brand.
- How exactly is the territory defined and protected (Item 12)? Ask for the territory map and the reserved-rights carve-outs in writing.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory. CFA Asia offers franchises and licenses for the development of a system of retail quick-service restaurants in Singapore under the trademark “Chick-fil- A” specializing in a boneless breast”
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with Chick-fil-A
Put Chick-fil-A on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.