CARVEL
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $30,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $221,000 – $385,000 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | GA |
| Legal name (Item 1) | CARVEL FRANCHISOR SPV LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-03-27 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 336 (Item 20, p.94) |
| Brand website | https://www.carvel.com |
About CARVEL
In addition to offering franchises, we and our affiliates also sell products to (i) wholesale accounts that offer Carvel® products at retail, such as supermarkets, convenience stores, club stores and other similar retail outlets and (ii) unaffiliated branded restaurants and retail stores that we… TERRITORY (Item 12): territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 328 | 0 | 328 |
| 2023 | 326 | 0 | 326 |
| 2024 | 336 | 0 | 336 |
Source: Item 20, p.94 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 29 (Item 20, p.97 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 49 (Item 20, p.94-95 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 5 (Item 3, p.27 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.29 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Three affiliate matters are disclosed, none against Carvel: 2019 Arby's and Dunkin' no-poach settlements (injunctive relief, no admission, Arby's paid no money) and a 2020 New York Dunkin' consent order over 2015 and 2018 credential-stuffing attacks with a $650,000 penalty. No other litigation is required to be disclosed. (Item 3, p.28-29 of the FDD)
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | No (Item 15, p.84 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | Yes (Item 15, p.83 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The Shoppe may operate only at the Accepted Location, and you will not receive an exclusive territory. Co-branded Shoppes in streetside locations may receive a limited Area of Protection; other Shoppes receive no protected territory. (Item 12, p.75-76 of the FDD)
Training: FRANCHISOR’S ASSISTANCE, ADVERTISING, COMPUTER SYSTEMS AND TRAINING Except as listed below, we are not required to provide you with any assistance. (Item 11, p.60 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Site selection review against minimum site criteria
- Right to review the site agreement before execution
- Evaluation of co-branding and hosted express requests
- Designation or pre-approval of a general contractor and architect
- Sample layout, architectural-plan review, and written consent to open
- Goods specifications and identification of Approved Suppliers
- Manuals and operating know-how
- Initial training and written approval of grand opening advertising
Source: Item 11, p.60-61 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Atlanta, GA (Item 1, p.11 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | GoTo Foods LLC (Item 1, p.11 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 20 years (Item 17, p.86 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 20 years (Item 17, p.86 of the FDD) |
| Veteran discount | Offered (Item 5, p.29 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 1 (Item 20, p.93 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask CARVEL directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Where CARVEL operates today
Per the brand's FDD outlet table (Item 20, Table 3 — franchised outlets by state, latest fiscal year): 357 franchised units across 22 states.
Projected openings (Item 20, Table 5)
Franchise agreements the FDD projects for the next fiscal year:
Source: carvel-fdd-2026-bbf5becc.pdf, Item 20. Counts are the franchisor's own disclosures.
Why two unit counts? The Key figures above cite 336 franchised units (Item 20, p.94) — the franchisor's reported franchised-unit total. The map above sums Item 20, Table 3 (franchised outlets by state at fiscal year-end), which totals 357. The two Item 20 figures are compiled on different bases, so they need not match.
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with CARVEL
Put CARVEL on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.