Baskin-Robbins
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $25,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $307,400 – $626,700 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5.9% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | GA |
| Legal name (Item 1) | BASKIN-ROBBINS FRANCHISING LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2026-03-26 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 967 (Item 20, p.80) |
| Brand website | https://www.baskinrobbins.com/en/franchise.html |
About Baskin-Robbins
BASKIN-ROBBINS is the world's largest ice cream and frozen dessert franchise with 8,000+ locations in 50+ countries. The brand's iconic 31 Flavors concept and regular limited-time offerings keep consumers engaged, while franchisees benefit from a low initial investment, flexible store formats, and co-branding opportunities with sister brand Dunkin' for combined unit economics.
FDD-derived details (fees, outlets, ownership, sourcing)
BASKIN-ROBBINS is the world's largest ice cream and frozen dessert franchise with 8,000+ locations in 50+ countries. The brand's iconic 31 Flavors concept and regular limited-time offerings keep consumers engaged, while franchisees benefit from a low initial investment, flexible store formats, and co-branding opportunities with sister brand Dunkin' for combined unit economics. MONEY FIGURES (Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, issued March 26, 2026): initial franchise fee $25,000 for a standard restaurant (Item 5, p22); total investment $307,400–$626,700 (Item 7, p32); continuing franchise fee 5.9% of Gross Sales (Item 6, p25); 967 outlets at year-end 2025 — 967 franchised + 0 company-owned, systemwide (Item 20 Table 1, p72). Source: MN CARDS file 5430, doc 35663-202603-13, received 03/28/2026.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Risk & history facts
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 0 (Item 3, p.26 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.29 of the FDD) |
Ownership & operations
| Typical time to open | 15 months (Item 11, p.51 of the FDD) |
Training: Baskin-Robbins Franchise Training Program: The Baskin-Robbins Franchise Training program takes a total of 13 days to complete and is a blended training with both virtual components and hands-on training in a Certified Training Shop located at a city and state that we designate. (Item 11, p.51 of the FDD)
Company facts
| Headquarters | GA |
| Advertising / brand fund fee | 3.5% of gross sales (Item 6, p.33 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 0 (Item 20, p.80 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Baskin-Robbins directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
- What does the brand's recent unit history show over the last three years (Item 20)? Ask about openings. Ask about closures. Ask about transfers. We have not extracted a unit-history table for this brand.
- How exactly is the territory defined and protected (Item 12)? Ask for the territory map and the reserved-rights carve-outs in writing.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, you do not receive an exclusive territory. The franchisor may sell additional franchises in the same area. It may also operate company units there. Or it may sell through other channels. No area is reserved for you. No area is closed to you by another franchisee's exclusivity either. Placement is the franchisor's decision.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory. We currently do business under our name, Baskin-Robbins Franchising LLC, and our brand name “Baskin-Robbins” and “BR.” The Baskin-Robbins brand began in 1946 and we, through our”
Availability
Because this brand grants no exclusive territory, there are no territory-based exclusions: no area is reserved for an existing franchisee, and no area is reserved for you. Whether a new unit is placed anywhere is the franchisor's decision under Item 12.
Next steps with Baskin-Robbins
Put Baskin-Robbins on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.