Abra
Key figures
| Initial franchise fee | $35,000 |
| Total investment (Item 7) | $263,640 – $4,569,050 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5% of gross sales |
| Headquarters state | NC |
| Legal name (Item 1) | ABRA Franchisor SPV LLC |
| FDD issuance date | 2025-06-13 |
| Franchised units (Item 20) | 57 (Item 20, p.58) |
| Brand website | https://www.abra.com |
About Abra
In March 1987, shareholders of Our Predecessor’s Former Parent formed Our Predecessor (as its wholly- owned subsidiary) to establish and develop the “Abra” franchise system. Our affiliate, Spire Supply, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company (“Spire Supply”), may sell certain goods and services… TERRITORY (Item 12): territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.
Due diligence dossier
Every figure below is as disclosed in this brand's own FDD, with its FDD citation. FranchiseKI adds no analysis and estimates nothing.
Unit history (Item 20)
| Year | Franchised | Company-owned | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 57 | 0 | 57 |
| 2021 | 63 | 0 | 63 |
| 2022 | 57 | 0 | 57 |
Source: Item 20, p.58 of the brand's FDD.
Risk & history facts
| Closures in the last 3 years | 8 (Item 20, p.60 of the FDD) |
| Transfers in the last 3 years | 5 (Item 20, p.58-59 of the FDD) |
| Litigation matters disclosed (Item 3) | 5 (Item 3, p.20 of the FDD) |
| Bankruptcy (Item 4) | No bankruptcy disclosed (Item 4) (Item 4, p.23 of the FDD) |
Litigation summary (Item 3): Disclosed matters are a predecessor encroachment arbitration settled in 2020 for $57,500, a 2022 pending Take 5 Canada disclosure suit, a 2011 Econo Lube Arizona consumer-protection consent judgment, and 2019 affiliate no-poach and Dunkin’ data-security settlements. The FDD states the affiliate matters do not allege unlawful conduct by Abra. (Item 3, p.19-21 of the FDD)
Ownership & operations
| Owner-operator required | Yes (Item 15, p.50 of the FDD) |
| Absentee ownership allowed | Yes (Item 15, p.47 of the FDD) |
Territory description (Item 12): The franchisee receives a Protected Area equal to a one-mile radius in which Abra will not open another franchised or company-owned Abra Repair Center. Abra states this is not an exclusive territory and reserves other brands and alternate channels inside that area. (Item 12, p.44-45 of the FDD)
Training: We will provide such training to you and certain of your managers (i.e., general manager, customer service manager, customer service representative, and pre-op manager) via an on-site or online training program within approximately 10 weeks after the effective date of the Franchise Agreement. (Item 11, p.39 of the FDD)
Ongoing support:
- Periodic Repair Center evaluations and written reports
- Advisory services on written request
- Updates and additions to the Business System
- Revised Operations Playbook materials
- Additional training programs, sometimes for a fee
- Intranet access and an Abra network email address
- Help submitting CMIP, DRP, or PBA applications
- National Brand Fund marketing and a Customer Care Center
Source: Item 11, p.37-38 of the brand's FDD.
Company facts
| Headquarters | Charlotte, NC (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Parent company | Driven Systems LLC (Item 1, p.6 of the FDD) |
| Initial term | 10 years (Item 17, p.48 of the FDD) |
| Renewal term | 10 years (Item 17, p.51 of the FDD) |
| Company-owned units | 0 (Item 20, p.61 of the FDD) |
| Projected new units | 5 (Item 20, p.61 of the FDD) |
Questions to ask the franchisor
Generated from what this brand's FDD data does not disclose — ask Abra directly:
- What liquid capital does the franchisor require of a new franchisee? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- What minimum net worth does the franchisor require? It is not disclosed in the FDD data we hold for this brand.
- Does the franchisor make financial performance representations (Item 19)? If it does, ask for the average unit revenue. Ask for the median too. This FDD makes none that we could extract.
Territory — what the FDD says (Item 12)
Under this brand's Item 12 rule, the territory carries some protection but not full exclusivity — for example, the franchisor may reserve certain channels or accounts. Future concepts may also be reserved. Areas inside an existing franchisee's protected territory are generally not available to a new buyer for a directly competing unit; the exact limits are in the FDD text quoted above.
The FDD's own words (Item 12): “territory is NOT exclusive - the FDD states you will not receive an exclusive territory.”
Where Abra operates today
Per the brand's FDD outlet table (Item 20, Table 3 — franchised outlets by state, latest fiscal year): 48 franchised units across 12 states.
Projected openings (Item 20, Table 5)
Franchise agreements the FDD projects for the next fiscal year:
Source: abra-fdd.pdf, Item 20. Counts are the franchisor's own disclosures.
Why two unit counts? The Key figures above cite 57 franchised units (Item 20, p.58) — the franchisor's reported franchised-unit total. The map above sums Item 20, Table 3 (franchised outlets by state at fiscal year-end), which totals 48. The two Item 20 figures are compiled on different bases, so they need not match.
What is NOT available
Not available: any area inside an existing franchisee's protected territory while that agreement runs. Existing units sit in: CO, GA, ID, IL, IA, MI, MN, MT, NE, TN, WA, WI — a specific address near an existing unit is governed by that territory's boundaries.
Only the franchisor can confirm availability.
Next steps with Abra
Put Abra on a shortlist. Compare it side by side with two other brands. Check it against your budget in the PerfectFit Quiz. Or talk it through with a vetted consultant. That conversation is free to buyers; call (385) 475-5319. Only the franchisor can confirm current terms. Only the franchisor can confirm territory availability.